Southeastern District - Lutheran Church

Live in:

    Who We Are

    The Southeastern District (SED) of the Lutheran Church — Missouri Synod (LCMS) is a regional district of the LCMS working with congregations and schools in creative partnerships that will result in church transformation and Kingdom growth.

    The two hundred eighteen congregations, forty five missions, and the eighty nine school ministries of the Southeastern District face many challenges as they seek to reach out to communities around them. Communities filled with people who don't know Jesus as Lord, who hunger for spiritual meaning, and who are looking for something in which to hope. The Mission of the Southeastern District leadership is to help congregations strengthen themselves and each other in order that each congregation might more effectively understand and pursue its mission.

    Southeastern District, LCMS Mission Statement

    In grateful response to God’s grace and empowered by the Holy Spirit, The Southeastern District Connects people with Jesus.

    Southeastern District, LCMS Vision Statement

    As we work together to connect our neighbors to Jesus, lives are transformed and God’s Kingdom is growing.

    Five Ablaze! Goals

    • 3000 Prayer Partners
    • 2.5 million Faith-sharing events
    • 100 New Ministries
    • Regularly-scheduled personal witnessing workshops and annual conferences
    • Training and equipping at least 60 Outreach Ministry Teams

    District Office Location
    6315 Grovedale Drive
    Alexandria, VA 22310
    800.637.5723/ 703-971-9371

    District President
    Rev. Dr. John R. Denninger

    District Logo
    The Southeastern District, LCMS (SED) brandmark/logo. The SED logo may be used by congregations and ministries of the District when referring to the SED/Southeastern District. It may be used in it’s entirety or by using the cross alone. The four color cross logo and it’s colors are a part of the SED/Southeastern District brand. Use of the cross must always refer back to the Southeastern District ( The four color cross may not be changed in color or shape.